Running a little late to work? Rushing to drop the kids off at school before the bell rings? In Virginia, if convicted of reckless driving, you might have a “record” for quite some time. Many reckless driving charges will stay on your record for up to 11 years, according to the Department of Motor Vehicles (Virginia).
Reckless driving isn’t a charge to be necessarily “ashamed” of…some of the most responsible adults have found themselves on the side of the road, pulled over by an officer. Sometimes, a motorist may not even know why he or she was stopped.
Why consult an attorney for a traffic violation? While it may seem minor, reckless driving charges come with hefty fines and demerit points. In fact, it is considered a “six point” offense in Virginia. Accumulate enough demerits on your record, and you might lose your driving privileges. Lose your driving privileges, and you might find yourself faced with the inconvenience of public transportation.
What can lead to a reckless driving charge?
Your Virginia Beach Criminal Lawyer can help you understand the law as it pertains to your charge. Reckless driving can mean a variety of things. We’ve listed below some of the most common reckless driving examples.
• Exceeding the speed limit by 20 mph or more
• Driving in excess of 80 mph
• Passing or overtaking an emergency vehicle
• Passing another motorist on the crest of a hill
• Driving too fast for conditions
• Failing to give a proper signal
• Driving with an obstructed view
• Passing a school bus improperly
Reckless driving is a serious charge. It carries with it the possibility of a misdemeanor or felony status, it will stay on a driver’s record for a lengthy period of time, and it can lead to revocation of one’s license. For these reasons, you should always consider hiring an experienced Virginia Beach Criminal attorney to ensure you aren’t charged with a crime you didn’t commit.