Driving Without a Valid License, or Before Completion of Alcohol Safety Action Program Under Certain Statutes
Although traffic offenses are generally thought to be “less serious” than other crimes, a person accused of driving without a license should still consult an experienced Virginia Beach Traffic & Criminal Lawyer – Doing so may save much time and money.
In Virginia, driving without a license is considered a class 2 misdemeanor. The law can be tricky; consult your Virginia Beach Criminal Lawyer to decipher whether the prosecution is properly bringing charges under the “no license/without a valid license” statute. If convicted of 18.2-266 or 46.2-341.24A, and the accused has been required to complete (but has not yet completed) an alcohol safety program, he/she still may be convicted under the “No license” statute even if the period for suspension has expired. Consult an experienced Virginia Beach Traffic Attorney to understand your rights and obligations as they currently stand.
Driving with a Learner’s Permit on the Highway without Proper Company
Residents of Virginia who possess a learner’s permit are allowed to operate a motor vehicle on a highway only if they are accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years of age, a sibling who is at least 18 years of age, or a parent or guardian. It is important to keep in mind that the accompanying person MUST be properly licensed to drive AND must sit in the passenger seat.
Violation of this law is a class 2 misdemeanor; the same level offense as driving without a valid license as mentioned in the preceding section. Obtain an experienced and reputable Virginia Beach Criminal Lawyer to make certain your rights are represented to the fullest extent, even in traffic court. Ramifications of traffic infractions can be costly and may result in loss of driving privileges. Therefore, take any traffic charges seriously and consult your Virginia Beach Traffic Attorney as soon as possible.
1. VA Code § 46.2-300.
2. VA Code § 46.2-335.