Your driving record can be a valuable tool for lawyers, judges, prosecutors and even employers. Although your driving record may or may not be relevant or admissible in your specific case or circumstance, your local Virginia Beach Traffic attorney can explain how it may be implicated and explain your options going forward. In some cases, a reckless driving charge may be reduced to a lesser offense, saving you money in the long run.
Certain convictions stay on your record longer than others; primarily this is based on the seriousness of the offense. Below is a chart that compares the length which various crimes remain on one’s DMV record if he or she is convicted.
Length conviction stays on DMV record
Reckless driving (speeding in excess of 80 mph)
Speeding 20 mph or more above the posted speed limit
Driving while intoxicated
Driving after illegally consuming alcohol (persons under age 21)
Refusing blood/breath test (DUI)
Driving after being declared a habitual offender
Driving on suspended license
Blocking access to service facility
What can I do to reduce my charges?
Have you ever been the recipient of a criminal summons? Virginia is a state with relatively strict rules and penalties for reckless driving. Even if you are driving just over 20 mph above the speed limit you can face a serious charge. The good news is that your local Virginia Beach Traffic and Criminal Lawyer may be able to work with you and the state to reach an agreement where you may be permitted to plead guilty to a reduced charge. Improper driving and speeding are two common offenses that drivers plead guilty to in order to avoid the reckless driving charge.
What if I prepay my reckless driving charge?
If you prepay your ticket, that action is the equivalent of pleading guilty to the charge. If that is the case, you will have that charge on your record for the time listed in the above table. Many reckless driving offenses will remain on one’s record for 11 years. Reckless driving is a misdemeanor, and many employment applications in both the public and private sectors require disclosure of felonies and misdemeanors. To inquire whether your charge can get reduced or for an analysis of whether you are even required to go to court, speak with your local Virginia Beach Traffic lawyer today.