Articles

possession with intent to distribute in Virginia

Possession with Intent to Distribute: What It Means in Virginia

Possession with intent to distribute is charged when someone is found in possession of controlled dangerous substances and it is believed that their intention is to either sell them or give them to someone else. Virginia takes drug possession seriously but distribution is harshly punished.Virginia Code Section 18.2- 248 criminalizes the possession of a controlled substance as well as possession with intent to distribute, sell, give or manufacture a controlled substance or an imitation controlled substance. How Intent to Distribute is [...]

reckless driving in virginia

15 Ways to Get a Reckless Driving in Virginia

Virginia takes reckless driving seriously.  Drivers convicted are guilty of committing a class 1 criminal charge, the same criminal classification as a DUI/DWI conviction.  Criminal charges can stay on your record for years, and can have a huge impact on your lifestyle.  Professionals who need security clearances for their occupation may lose those authorizations.  Military or government contractors, who deal with sensitive matters, may not be able to get required sanctions.  Insurance costs significantly raise.     Unfortunately, many driving behaviors [...]

ignition interlock device drunk driving Virginia

DUI Convictions & Ignition Interlock Devices: What You Should Know

Drunk driving is a serious offense, and if you’ve been convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in the state of Virginia, you will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle. An ignition interlock device is a breathalyzer for your car that you blow into before you turn the key. If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is too high, meaning you’ve been drinking, you will not be able to start your car. The device [...]

personal injury lawyer virginia

Making a Personal Injury Claim: The Statute of Limitations in Virginia

The Personal Injury Statute of Limitations of Virginia sets a specific time frame that must be met if a person seeking damages wants to sue. If an injured person does not bring legal action within this time frame they may lose their right to seek damages—lose their rights forever.Knowing how long you have available to take legal action on personal injury in Virginia is, therefore, important as it allows you time to prepare your case and seek advice. How [...]

repeat DUI offender in Virginia

9 Things You Should Know If You’re a Repeat DUI Offender

Virginia classifies DUI offenses as Class 1 Misdemeanor acts punishable by up to 1 year in jail. If you are convicted of a second, third, or subsequent DUI offense in Virginia within 5-10 years, you will face harsh penalties that include mandatory fines, jail time and the loss of your driving privileges. A DUI arrest can be a terrifying experience which worsens if it’s a repeat time. Here are the important things you should know if you're a repeat [...]

reckless driving in Virginia

Reckless Driving in Virginia: What to Expect in Court

So you were reckless ... and you were driving. You were going 25 miles per hour over the speed limit, and you barely dodged a mini-van that changed lanes in front of you.A Virginia State Trooper saw the whole thing. He pulled you over and wrote a ticket. He handed you the reckless driving ticket and told you to remember your court date. You're scared. You're overwhelmed. What should you do? Virginia Reckless Driving Laws Virginia, like many states, has a [...]

driving on a suspended license jail time

Can I Go to Jail for Driving on a Suspended License in Virginia?

While you may regard driving as a basic right, the fact is that operating a vehicle is something that must be earned and maintained by demonstrating lawful driving. Under certain circumstances, your Virginia driver’s license can be suspended for a specific period of time, depending on your driving record or particular violation(s). Even with all life responsibilities, driving on a suspended license is a mistake that you cannot afford because of the major consequences that come with it. Is Driving [...]

DUI felony or misdemeanor

Is a DUI/DWI a Felony or Misdemeanor in Virginia? What Are the Penalties?

Virginia categorizes Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) together, although there are subtle distinctions between the two drunk driving classifications.  DWI determinations are made by taking a blood sample, or a breath sample using a breathalyzer.  A DUI conviction is obtained when there is sufficient evidence that a person has consumed enough alcohol, or other substances, to result in observable impairment of conduct, speech, coordination, or overall appearance. How Are DUIs and DWIs Classified? First offense DUI/DWI convictions are classified [...]

Overweight and Oversized Citations by your Virginia Beach Trucker’s Attorney

If you are an owner, employee, or contractor working for or with a logistics, freight or a distribution company involved in the movement of goods, you absolutely must have a firm understanding of the laws of the road.  Unfortunately, the laws in Virginia can be harsh in this regard.  There have been reports of overweight citations issued to individuals, despite the fact that they possessed valid hauling permits.  For an interesting blog article on the topic entitled, Virginia Hauling [...]

Celebrities Caught Driving Under the Influence

It seems like celebrities getting caught driving under the influence have become a common occurrence these days. Whether we read it on the newspaper or see it on television, it's no surprise to see another Hollywood celeb caught drunk driving.While we expect these stars to face charges just like the rest of the people who arrested for DUI, their cases rarely result in jail time, or if they do, only for a very short stint. Could this be one [...]