Trunk Road Speed Limits Lowered in Some Scottish Towns

Trunk Road Speed Limits Lowered in Some Scottish Towns

Scottish government officials have ordered a decree to try out a speed limit in five communities – Largs, Maybole, Langholm, Biggar, and Oban. Its main objective is to see whether limiting road speeds on these places will improve road and driving safety.

According to the article published by heraldscotland, the trial will commence next spring or summer. About how the list was narrowed down, 14 towns were originally selected according to accident rates, traffic datas, and vehicle road speeds.

The other towns were ruled out of the list because the Scottish government believes suggesting a speed limit of 20mph on those towns will be impractical and ineffective. Some of the towns taken off the list include Keith, Golspie, Callander, Nairn, and Crocketford.

Another reason used in the final decision-making was the road widths of the aforementioned towns were not sufficient to support 20mph speed limit.

Share this post