Repeat DUI Offenders

Repeat DUI Offenders

Handcuffs on Beer Mug and Wine Glass, representing a repeat dui offender in Virginia BeachA first DUI arrest is frightening because you don’t know what to expect. A second-offense DUI — or a third-offense DUI — is frightening because you know that the potential consequences are extremely severe.

Conviction on a repeat DUI offense carries a high likelihood of jail time, in addition to fines and lengthy suspension of your driver’s license.

If you have been arrested on a repeat DUI or felony DUI charge, take the time to find a lawyer who you can trust to deliver exceptional client service and who is dedicated to achieving the best possible result in your case.

Virginia Beach repeat DUI defense lawyer Jason Swango has extensive experience with repeat DUI defense. We offer complete initial consultations at our Virginia Beach office.

To make an appointment to discuss your needs with regard to repeat DUI defense, call (757) 383-9229 or contact us online.

We Analyze Every Detail of Your Case to Find a Defense Strategy

At Swango Law P.C. we examine every nuance of each repeat DUI defense case to find any and every potential defense that we can use to minimize or eliminate negative consequences.

  • Did you waive your constitutional right to a lawyer during the proceedings for your first or subsequent DUI offense? Did you understand what it meant to waive your right to an attorney if you did so?
  • What happened during this most recent arrest? Is there evidence of improper procedure that will allow us to challenge the Breathalyzer test results?

Possible Penalties for Repeat DUI Convictions in Virginia

Mandatory Minimum FineMandatory Minimum Jail SentencePossible to Get Restricted Driver’s License?Required Installation of Ignition Interlock Device?Driver’s License Suspension
2nd Within 5 Years

$500

20 days plus additional time for higher BACs

Only after 1 +year

Yes, for 6 months to 1 year

For 3 years by the DMV

2nd Within 10 Years

$500

10 days plus additional time for higher BACs

Only after 4 months

Yes, for 6 months to 1 year

For 3 years by the DMV

3rd Within 5 Years

$1,000

6 months

May petition without guarantee after 5 years

Yes, for at least 6 months after license restored

May petition without guarantee after 5 years

3rd Within 10 Years

$1,000

90 days

No

Not applicable because no driver’s license

May petition without guarantee after 5 years

Contact a Dedicated Repeat DUI Defense Lawyer in Virginia Beach and Norfolk

Do not delay seeking legal counsel after an arrest for a second offense or third-offense DUI. The sooner your DUI defense lawyer can begin working on your case, the better. Schedule a consultation at our Virginia Beach office. Call (757) 383-9229 or use our online contact form.

Share this post