Reckless DrivingSwango Law P.C
Reckless driving has become a very common offense in the state of Virginia. Whether due to truck drivers rushing to meet deadlines, tourists in a hurry to reach their destinations or young drivers distracted by cell phones, reckless driving is a criminal charge and is on the rise.
The consequences of a reckless driving conviction can be incredibly — surprisingly — severe.
A conviction can lead to a $2,500 fine, points on your driving record, a suspended driver’s license for up to six months, increased insurance premiums and even jail time up to one year.
If you have been accused of reckless driving, you should strongly consider retaining the services of an experienced attorney to protect your rights.
At Swango Law P.C., in Virginia Beach and all of Hampton Roads, we do not take reckless driving charges lightly. We understand the impact that a conviction can have on your life.
Virginia Beach reckless driving defense lawyer Jason Swango handles dozens of reckless driving cases every month and is a regular in the traffic courts in Virginia Beach, Norfolk, Chesapeake, Portsmouth, Newport News and Hampton.
We aggressively protect the rights of our clients, striving for dismissals or reductions in charges as well as keeping our clients out of jail. We invite you to review our past case results or arrange an initial consultation. Call (757) 383-9229 or contact us online.
What Is Reckless Driving?
In Virginia, reckless driving is defined as “operating a motor vehicle at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person.” The state classifies several different driving behaviors as reckless driving, including:
- Speeding in excess of 20 miles per hour over the posted limit
- Racing on public roadways
- Passing or failing to yield to an emergency vehicle
- Driving too fast for road conditions
- Passing a school bus with its flashers on
- Changing lanes without signaling
- Improper passing
Fines and Driver’s License Suspension
Currently, the fine for reckless driving is $2,500. You may also face suspension of your driver’s license for up to six months and the addition of points to your driving record. If you accumulate a certain number of points within a designated time period, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) may suspend your driver’s license for a longer period of time.
These are consequences that no one wants to face. Maximize your chances for a positive outcome by hiring an experienced driving on a revoked or suspended license defense attorney.
At Swango Law P.C., we offer every client the utmost respect, regardless of the criminal charges they are facing. Whether you are looking at a simple traffic violation or a DUI, we take the time to truly understand your situation and work with you to set realistic goals.
Our primary objective is to help you move forward with your life. Contact us to schedule an initial consultation with an experienced advocate.